Saint and Singer: Edward Taylor's Typology and the Poetics of Meditation

الغلاف الأمامي
Cambridge University Press, 27‏/06‏/1986 - 341 من الصفحات
This book focuses on the works of America's premier colonial poet, Edward Taylor (1642-1729). This study analyses typology in Taylor's Christographia and Treatise Concerning the Lord's Supper and examining Taylor's adaptations of figural analogies to suit his personal spiritual needs, Professor Rowe advances a theory which unites Taylor's exegetical discipline as a preacher with his creativity as a poet. This is the first work to draw on the collection of unpublished sermons, discovered in 1977, Upon the Types of the Old Testament. Professor Rowe links Taylor's sermons with corresponding poetic meditations, thus providing insights into typological theories, groupings and analogies. In her conclusion, the author sees Taylor as neither metaphysical or baroque, nor a historian in the typological school, but rather as the quintessential Puritan preacher and poet, a contemplative lyricist and devotional typologist in the tradition of Herbert, Milton and Bunyan.
 

ما يقوله الناس - كتابة مراجعة

لم نعثر على أي مراجعات في الأماكن المعتادة.

المحتوى

typology as illumination
24
personalizing the types
53
Edward Taylors Puritan Worshipmould
90
New Englands saints delivered
131
seals to the Covenant
165
Preparing for the wedding feast
196
The artistry of types
229
Comparative analysis of Edward Taylors typological
278
organization
283

طبعات أخرى - عرض جميع المقتطفات

عبارات ومصطلحات مألوفة

معلومات المراجع