Meeting of Religions and the Trinity

الغلاف الأمامي
A&C Black, 29‏/06‏/2000 - 459 من الصفحات
One of the most discussed topics of our time is Christianity's relation to other religions. In this important new book, one of Britain's leading contemporary theologians develops a sharp and penetrating critique of the pluralist position. In the tradition of Alasdair MacIntyre and John Milbank, D'Costa shows that too often it masks a secularizing agenda, traceable to the worst
apects of Enlightenment modernity.

Even by its own criteria, pluralism does not succeed. D'Costa demonstrates this by exploring the 'meeting of the religions' in its
leading exponents from Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism and Buddhism. He discovers the influence of Western modernist thought or else a veiled exclusivism not only in Hick, Knitter, Cohn-Sherbok and Panikkar, but even in Radhakrishnan and the Dalai Lama. He then goes on to establish an alternative Trinitarian approach to interreligious prayer and tolerance, drawing on recent discussions of other
religions as 'vehicles of salvation'. The final section of the book represents the first major systematic theological study of interfaith
prayer.
 

ما يقوله الناس - كتابة مراجعة

لم نعثر على أي مراجعات في الأماكن المعتادة.

المحتوى

Modernitys Hidden God within Christian and Jewish Pluralism
19
Advaitas Unsupported Brahman within NeoHindu Pluralism
53
The Near Triumph of Tibetan Buddhist PluralistExclusivism
72
PART II
90
An Invitation to Engagement
99
Praying Together to the Triune God? Is Interreligious Prayer
143
On Seeking Fidelity through Loving Risk
150
On Finishing without Conclusions
165
Bibliography
173
Index
183

طبعات أخرى - عرض جميع المقتطفات

عبارات ومصطلحات مألوفة

نبذة عن المؤلف (2000)

Dr Gavin D'Costa is Professor of Catholic Theology, University of Bristol, England.

معلومات المراجع